Beginning in 1933, this unique racing car was built by Alec Issigonis and his friend George Dowson. With plans sketched on the wall of Issigonis' shed at his house in Kenilworth, they built a racing car from Austin Seven parts using only hand tools.
Built around a stressed aluminium monocoque with a plywood chassis, the car was riveted together by hand. Holes were drilled in the car to make it is as light as possible – hence the 'Lightweight Special'. For power, Issigonis managed to obtain a spare Austin supercharged side-valve engine.
From 1938 the Lightweight Special was campaigned at various hillclimbs and also at speed trials such as Brighton. In 1947 an experimental Wolseley OHC supercharged engine was fitted.